Surrogates in Lichfield Diocese

A marriage may be solemnized by a Church of England minister only after proper Preliminaries. These are either:

  • Banns,
  • a Superintendent Registrar’s Certificate,
  • an Archbishop’s Special Licence, or
  • a Common Licence.

A Common Licence can be issued by the diocesan Chancellor in his/her role as Vicar General of the Bishop. In practice the system is administered by the Registry team in Wolverhampton, but Surrogates are sometimes appointed to act within a particular deanery. The diocesan Registrar and his Deputy Registrar are also appointed as Surrogates, but with authority to act across the whole diocese.

Here is the current list of Surrogates in the diocese:

Deanery Minister Telephone Email

Lichfield Archdeaconry

Rugeley Mark Davys 01889 883722 

Salop Archdeaconry

Edgmond & Shifnal Mary Thomas 07376 122632 
Ellesmere Patricia Hawkins 01691 622571 
Hodnet Catherine McBride 01630 656943 
Hodnet Jane Morris 01630 801207
Oswestry John Chesworth 01691 653922
Oswestry Harvey Gibbons 01691 653467 
Shrewsbury & Wrekin Fiona Iddon 01743 362399
Shrewsbury & Wrekin Christine Tough 01952 510304 

Stoke-upon-Trent Archdeaconry

Eccleshall Alison Hudson 01785 822820
Leek Nigel Irons 01538 386114 
Stafford Richard Grigson 07877 168498 
Stoke-on-Trent Andrew Wickens 01782 413915
Stoke-on-Trent David McHardy 01782 398585
Uttoxeter Margaret Sherwin 01889 560234 

Walsall Archdeaconry

  None at present - consult Registry
Page last updated: Monday 4th March 2024 2:26 PM
Powered by Church Edit