DAC members and advisers


Membership of the Lichfield Diocesan Advisory Committee (DAC) is governed by schedule 2 of the Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction and Care of Churches Measure 2018 and constitutes:

  • the Chair (appointed by the Diocesan Bishop)
  • the Archdeacons (ex officio members)
  • at least 12 other members

These other members represent:

In accordance with the Care of Churches and Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction Measure Code of Practice 1993:

Members of DACs are not delegates or representatives of either the body which appointed them or any other body which was consulted about their appointment, although they are encouraged to report back to those bodies and to keep them interested in and informed of the Committee's activities. Members must exercise an independent judgement on each matter before them, must declare any interest and withdraw from the discussion in appropriate cases, and must exercise reasonable care and (in the case of professional people) reasonable professional skill and judgement.

Members and advisers of the Lichfield DAC are insured under the provisions of the Lichfield Diocesan Board of Finance (LDBF).

Lichfield DAC members

There are 20 members for the Synodical period 2015–2021

The Revd Preb Pat Hawkins QHC BA (Hons) MA BPhil BTh (Hons) Chair
The Ven Dr Susan Weller BSc (Hons) BA (Hons) PhD Archdeacon of Lichfield
The Ven Paul Thomas BA MA Archdeacon of Salop
The Ven Julian Francis BA MA Archdeacon of Walsall
The Revd Preb Terry Bloor BTh (Hons) Acting Archdeacon of Stoke-upon-Trent
The Revd Neil Hibbins MA DPS Diocesan Synod clergy nominee
Mr David Litchfield DipTP MRTPI (Retd) Diocesan Synod lay nominee
Ms Julie Taylor BSc (Hons) MA MA MRTPI Historic England nominee
Mrs Claire Hines BA MA PGDip IHBC Local Government Association nominee
Mr Andy Foster MA FSA National Amenity Societies nominee
The Revd Nick Heron BA (Hons) BTh (Hons) Clergy member
Ms Sarah Butler BArch GradDiplCons RIBA AABC IHBC Conservation architect
Mr Bryan Martin BA DipArch RIBA AABC Conservation architect
Mr Adrian Mathias BA DipArch MACons RIBA AABC Conservation architect
Mr Mark Parsons BA BArch RIBA AABC Conservation architect
Mr Nigel de Gaunt-Allcoat DAC adviser*
Mr Brough Skingley BSc DAC adviser*
Mr Andy Smith MArb CEnv MICFor FArborA DAC adviser*
Dr Andy Wigley BSc MA PCHE PhD FSA MCIfA DAC adviser*
Mr Peter Woollam MSc HND CEng MIET DAC adviser*

* These DAC members also fulfil the roles of DAC adviser listed below


Advisers to the Lichfield DAC are also governed by schedule 2 of the Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction and Care of Churches Measure 2018, where the Diocesan Bishop may appoint suitably qualified persons to act as consultants to the Committee.

The Church Buildings Council (CBC) has published a guidance note on the role of DAC advisers.

Lichfield DAC advisers

Dr Andy Wigley BSc MA PCHE PhD FSA MCIfA Archaeology Adviser
Mr Andy Smith MArb CEnv MICFor FArborA Tree Adviser
Mr Nigel de Gaunt-Allcoat Organ Adviser
Mr Jonathan Ansell Clock Adviser
Mr Peter Woollam MSc HND CEng MIET Bell & Telecoms Adviser
Mr Brough Skingley BSc Lighting & Electrical Adviser; Audio-Visual Adviser (Lichfield & Salop Archdeaconries)
The Revd Matt Malins Audio-Visual Adviser (Stoke-upon-Trent Archdeaconry)
The Revd Mark Wilson Audio-Visual Adviser (Walsall Archdeaconry)
Mr John Polhill BSc Sustainability & Garden Adviser
Mr Andrew Baker Heating Adviser (Walsall Archdeaconry)
Mr Peter Bemrose BSc (Hons) MSc CEng MIChemE Heating Adviser (all archdeaconries)
Mr Hugh Peate Heating Adviser (Salop Archdeaconry)
Mr Malcolm Price BSc CEng MCIBSE (Retd) Heating Adviser (Stoke-upon-Trent Archdeaconry)
Ms Emma Varney BEng (Hons) ACIBSE Heating Adviser (Lichfield Archdeaconry)

Please note: Whilst the names and specialisations of individual members and advisers are given above, all requests for DAC advice must follow due process and be made through the DAC Secretary or Assistant DAC Secretary.

Page last updated: 29th June 2021 3:38 PM