Our Bishops

The Bishops of Lichfield, Stafford and Wolverhampton
The Bishops of Lichfield, Stafford and Wolverhampton

The Rt Revd Dr Michael Ipgrave


Email: bishop.michael@lichfield.anglican.org

Bishop Michael was enthroned as the 99th Bishop of Lichfield on 24 September 2016. He succeeds the Right Reverend Jonathan Gledhill, who retired in 2015.

He has responsibility for one of the Church of England’s largest dioceses, leading an episcopal team with the Bishops of Wolverhampton, Stafford and Shrewsbury.

Originally from the midlands, he came to the Diocese after twelve years in south London, the Diocese of Southwark: eight as an archdeacon and four as area Bishop of Woolwich.

He has a long-held interest and expertise in ecumenical and inter-faith matters, work for which he was awarded the OBE in 2012.

More info

The Rt Revd Clive Gregory

Office:01902 824503

Email: bishop.wolverhampton@lichfield.anglican.org

Bishop Clive is the area bishop of the Wolverhampton epsicopal area, covering the Black Country and southern part of Staffordshire.

After a curacy in Thanet, he spent fifteen years in Coventry as a university chaplain and then rector of four urban churches. 

In his spare time, he has a liking for cricket and books.

More info

The Rt Revd Geoff Annas

Mobile:07896 448233

Office:01782 373308

Email: bishop.stafford@lichfield.anglican.org

Bishop Geoff is responsible for the Stafford epsicopal area - the northern two thirds of Staffordshire. 

He has spent most of his ministry in urban areas - a decade in south London followed by sixteen years in Southampton before coming to Stafford in 2010.

As well as his joy in working with the churches in his area, he has a passion for theatre and delights in being an honorary chaplain to various theatres.

More info

Each Bishop works closely with his Archdeacon(s) and has office support from his own PA as well as the Bishop's Chaplain and Secretary, based in Lichfield.

Mrs Margaret Wilson

Office:01543 306000

Email: margaret.wilson@lichfield.anglican.org

Secretary to the Bishop of Lichfield

More info

Mrs Gemma Trueman

Office:01782 373308

Email: gemma.trueman@lichfield.anglican.org

PA to the Bishop of Stafford

More info

Ms Diana Hill

Office:01543 306001

Email: diana.hill@lichfield.anglican.org

PA to the Bishop of Lichfield.

Particular responsibility for the Bishop's diary and correspondence.

More info

Mrs Carol Adams

Office:01902 824503

Email: carol.adams@lichfield.anglican.org

PA to the Bishop of Wolverhampton

More info

Mrs Julie Ramsey

Fax:01743 243296

Office:01743 235867

Email: julie.ramsey@lichfield.anglican.org

PA to the Bishop of Shrewsbury

More info