About Our Diocese

  • The Diocese serves a population of 2.097 million, the 5th largest by population in the country.
  • The Diocese serves an area of 1,740 square-miles, the 9th largest by size in the country.
  • The Diocese has 265 Benefices, 425 Parishes and 573 Churches.
  • The Diocese has 502 clergy in active ministry – 142 women and 360 men.
  • On average, each member of the clergy serves 3,660 people.


In 2015, the latest year for which statistics are available, churches in the diocese had an average weekly attendance of a 40,000 people; of which 24,000 were on a Sunday.

These average attendance figures do not include Christmas and Easter when attendance is much higher - up to double that in an average week.

For further information, click here

Rites of Passage


In 2015, the Diocese performed 1944 weddings.


The Diocese held 4898 church funerals in 2015, as well as 3319 in crematoria and other locations.


In 2015, the Diocese baptised 5246 people - a slight fall from 2014.


There were 761 people confirmed in 2015, a slight rise on 2014.


The Lichfield Diocesan Board of Education is the second largest in the Church of England with 206 Church of England Schools. Of these, 47 are Voluntary Aided; 157 are Voluntary Controlled and two are Foundation Schools.

Some 44,000 children and young people are educated in Church of England schools in the diocese.
There are 196 Primary schools, six Middle schools and four Secondary schools in seven local education authority areas: Staffordshire, Stoke-on-Trent, Shropshire, Telford & Wrekin, Wolverhampton, Sandwell and Walsall.

73 schools received Denominational Inspections (statutory inspection of anglican schools) in 2006/07 and 19% were judged “Outstanding”, 60% “Good” and 21% “Satisfactory”. No school was unsatisfactory. On average, over the period 2003-06, in Key Stage 2 SATs results Church of England schools in the Diocese of Lichfield outperformed all schools in the seven relevant local authority areas by 8% (number of pupils achieving Level 4 (the expected level) in the three main curriculum areas (Literacy, Numeracy, Science)).